westhouse-blog-wrekin-maths-success.jpg

Wrekin Maths Success September 2021

Deputy Head Mrs Patel took our intrepid team of Year 6 mathematicians to Wrekin College, whose yearly tournament has seen several teams of mathematicians return with the spoils over recent years. And this year was no different.

Our 4 pairs of mathematicians competed brilliantly, solving problems and meeting the challenges they faced. Our top pair finished first and our other pairs finished joint fourth and joint twelfth – a brilliant achievement by all the boys, considering that there were 37 teams in the tournament.

IMAGE: Our teams at Wrekin College, just after the tournament had finished.

The tournament could easily have gone another direction. As you can see from the table (below), several competitors scored more highly in the ‘Find the Value’ competition – our pair of eventual winners were ‘out-mathed’ by several other pairs, including eventual the eventual 2nd place team from local school Norfolk House. And then to make matters even tighter, the top team from Shrewsbury Cathedral scored a massive score in the ‘Countdown’ section. But in the section that held the most points, ‘The Big Event’ our boys came good with a massive 32 points that secured them the top spot overall.

IMAGE: The top part of the results table, showing our positions in 1st and joint 4th.

Well done to all the competitors involved in the competition and a big thank you to Wrekin College for putting this on.

MAIN IMAGE: Our 1st placed mathematicians.

 

Contact Us
Ms K Stevenson
Headmaster's PA

St James Road, Edgbaston,
Birmingham B15 2NX
Telephone
: 0121 440 4097
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • School Term Dates 2021
  • Autumn Term 2021 Begins - Mon 6th Sept
  • Half Term - Thurs 21st Oct to Fri 29th Oct
  • Term Ends - Wed 15th Dec
  • Spring Term 2022 Begins - Thurs 6th Jan
  • Half Term - Mon 21st to Fri 25th Feb
  • Term Ends - Wed 6th Apr
  • Summer Term 2022 Begins - Mon 25th Apr
  • Half Term - Mon 30th May to Fri 3rd June
  • Term Ends - Tues 12th July
  • Autumn Term Begins - Wed 7th Sept


Website Designed by Hotlobster Design Ltd